Verda Vivo

Verda Vivo means “Green Life” in the universal language of Esperanto.

Book Review: Shift Your Habit March 7, 2010

I recently received a review copy of the book, Shift Your Habit: Easy Ways to Save Money, Simplify Your Life, and Save the Planet. It will be available for sale on March 9. The author, Elizabeth Rogers, an environmental consultant, is also the co-author of the New York Times best seller, “The Green Book”.

The book is packed with practical and easy ways to reduce your impact on the environment and save money at the same time. The book is organized into categories, such as home and garden, kids, pets, work, travel and transportation as well as holidays and celebrations. Each shift is explained in terms of what habit you can shift, how much money you can save, the impact to the planet and how it’s good for you too. If you adopted all of the shifts in the book, an average family of four with a pet would save $48,000. That should make anyone sit up and take notice! The shifts that the author proposes are easy to do and inexpensive. It all adds up!

Since I am a cleaning fanatic, I was very excited to see the easy to use chart of homemade cleaners, including everything from glass and toilet cleaners to wood furniture polish and fabric softener. My copy of the book is already looking well-loved as I have picked it up numerous times to read and re-read sections as I continue to shift my own habits and paradigms. You can pre-order Shift Your Habit: Easy Ways to Save Money, Simplify Your Life, and Save the Planet today at Amazon.

signature
Enjoy this post? Get more like it. Subscribe in a reader or by Email.

 

20 Responses to “Book Review: Shift Your Habit”

  1. [...] the original: Book Review: Shift Your Habit « Verda Vivo This entry was posted in Books and tagged elizabeth, elizabeth-rogers, habit, life, money, planet, [...]

  2. [...] See more here: Book Review: Shift Your Habit « Verda Vivo [...]

  3. 3 Rules To Effective Dog Clicker Training! Says:

    [...] Book Review: Shift Your Habit « Verda Vivo [...]

  4. [...] the original post here: Book Review: Shift Your Habit « Verda Vivo Share and [...]

  5. Looks like a good book. Thanks.

  6. yael@israel Says:

    sounds like useful book! btw-second hand is another great way not to support producing of co2 and to save some money)

  7. Jeremy Says:

    Thanks. Will check the book out

  8. Luke Says:

    Seems like a great book! I’ll search for more reviews for sure as it’s available to buy for a while now. Great that we can save some money but especially take care of our Mother Earth!

    What others thing about the book here?

  9. Jesse Ryder Says:

    I recently began a whole green lifestyle with the family and this book ties in perfectly! As an outdoorsman who loves the natural aspects of life I found myself actuyally living a double life – conservationistr outdoors and cosmic enviromental terrorist at home. Thankfully the dual personality is starting to moul into a green single entity.
    Thanks for the post – looking forward to reading the book

  10. Hello, This is a great post. I have learned from it alot. i have learned about saving money and find my self more and more envolved with enviroment.
    Best regardes:

  11. Debbie Says:

    I am always looking for ways to save money. I will check this book out.

  12. Ian Says:

    looks like a book that I’ll invest in. and support by recommending it if I feel it is useful.

  13. You have disappeared, I don’t see any new posts here recently……did you move your blog to a new location?

  14. Exactly Shelly! I’m following comments on that blog post and every time I come I would like to see new post but there is none. Please give us the new blog url or… update this one! Request from readers!

  15. Verda Vivo Says:

    Unfortunately, due to time constraints, I have been unable to maintain this blog. Researching articles is very time-consuming. I’m keeping the blog in the hopes that I will have time in the future to resume.

    Thank you for your comments! ~ Daryl

  16. Bart Says:

    Looks very nice!

  17. moezijn Says:

    Thanks for this tip! I will check this book out.

  18. Sounds like a very a good and usefull book… Thanks

  19. Cleaning Battersea Says:

    It really is a good and reliable read. Thank you for sharing it with us.
    It’s been a pleasure reading your articles.
    Best Regards
    Battersea Cleaners


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers